帮助就在三个数字之外

988:情感、精神或物质滥用支持的 24/7 生命线

消息

新闻发布

人类服务部发起运动,教育公众了解新的 988 危机支持热线

拨打 988 的原因:

这个怎么运作

称呼

那些 拨打 988 给出三个选项:

  • 按 1 连接退伍军人危机热线
  • 按 2 连接西班牙子网
  • 保持在线并连接到当地的危机中心;如果当地危机中心无法接听,呼叫者将被路由到国家备用中心

文字或聊天

那些 给 988 发短信“说话” 将连接到配备响应文本的危机中心。聊天将通过 Lifeline 的网站提供: https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/chat.

在我们的网站上查找有关 988 个研讨会的信息 日历.

988和911有什么区别?

行为健康危机需要行为健康应对措施。建立 988 是为了改善获得危机服务的机会,以满足我国日益增长的危机行为医疗保健需求。 988 提供了对相关行为健康危机资源的更轻松访问,这与 911 不同(其重点是根据需要派遣紧急医疗服务、消防和警察)。

经常问的问题

988 是一个新的、免费且易于记忆的全国性情绪、精神或物质使用危机求助热线。这是一项更大计划的一部分,该计划旨在为处于困境中的人们建立一个行为健康基础设施,以便“有人打电话,有人来,去某个地方”。


988 个电话、短信和聊天由训练有素、富有同情心的行为健康专家接听,他们了解社区心理健康和药物使用资源。他们将倾听、提供支持并与来电者一起制定安全和恢复计划。


988 可以为所有新墨西哥人打开寻求心理健康或药物使用帮助的大门,同时传达治愈、希望和帮助每天都在发生的信息。


988 是重要的第一步,但不是最后一步,它重新构想了新墨西哥州的行为健康危机系统,以应对任何有需要的人。 HSD/BHSD 认为,新墨西哥人应该拥有触手可及的心理健康。建立危机现在的连续关怀是关于在人们最需要的时候与他们会面。这种转变需要时间,需要联邦、州和地方各级的资源来准备危机系统,以更好地满足这些需求。

988 现在可实时用于通话、短信和聊天。可以讲西班牙语。

  • 担心您或您认识的人的安全。
  • 很难控制强烈的情绪。
  • 感到绝望、困惑、愤怒或孤独。
  • 担心酒精或药物使用(物质使用)。
  • 需要当地社区服务的信息或转介。
  • 有一些事情想与当前情况之外的人交谈。
  • 服役人员或退伍军人及其家人。

当您打电话、发短信或聊天 988 时,训练有素的行为健康专家会接听。许多人有心理健康或社会工作背景,但所有人都接受过培训。他们在那里不带评判地倾听并帮助您处理您的感受,思考您的问题或情况,探索您的选择或接下来会发生什么,并帮助您弄清楚您想做什么,如果有的话。目前,从新墨西哥州区号拨打 988 的电话会自动转接到新墨西哥州危机和接入热线。

称呼

拨打 988 时,呼叫者首先会听到问候消息,同时他们的呼叫会被路由到本地网络危机中心(基于呼叫者的区号)。
您还将获得三个选项。按 1 连接到退伍军人危机热线或按 2 连接到西班牙网络。
训练有素的行为健康专业人员将接听电话,倾听来电者的声音,了解他们的问题如何影响他们,提供支持,并在需要时共享资源。如果当地危机中心无法接听电话,来电者将被自动转接到国家备用危机中心。

 

从 2022 年 7 月 16 日开始,当拨打 988 时,呼叫者首先会听到问候消息,同时他们的呼叫会被路由到本地网络危机中心(基于呼叫者的区号)。

您还将获得三个选项。按 1 连接到退伍军人危机热线或按 2 连接到西班牙网络。

训练有素的行为健康专业人员将接听电话,倾听来电者的声音,了解他们的问题如何影响他们,提供支持,并在需要时共享资源。如果当地危机中心无法接听电话,来电者将被自动转接到国家备用危机中心。

文本

向 988 发短信“TALK”的人目前已连接到配备回复短信的危机中心。这项服务将在未来几年扩大,以增加地方和州一级的响应。建立联系后,行为健康专家将倾听您的意见,努力了解您的问题对您的影响,提供支持并共享可能有用的资源。

聊天

当我通过 988 聊天时会发生什么?

可以通过 Lifeline 的网站进行聊天 https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/chat

在与确定主要关注领域的顾问联系之前,会为寻求聊天服务的人提供聊天前调查。如果等待与危机顾问聊天,则会出现等待时间消息。如果需求量很大,个人可以在等待或拨打 988 时访问 988“有用资源”。一旦接通,行为健康专家会倾听您的意见,努力了解您的问题对您的影响,提供支持并共享资源有帮助。

988 将改善所有可能处于情绪、心理健康或物质使用困扰的新墨西哥人的访问。 988 提供了对本地网络资源的更轻松访问,这与 911 不同。988 改变了人们对心理健康危机中的行为的看法。这与身体紧急情况一样重要。它是执法的替代方案,作为心理健康的主要干预措施。

988 和 911 系统将需要密切协调,以便无缝转介呼叫者以获得适当的护理或响应,以解决每次危机遇到的独特情况。 HSD/BHSD 正积极与当地 911 对口部门合作,为两项服务之间的顺利协调进行规划。

988 的主要目标是以人为本,在他们最需要的时候为处于危机或心理健康相关或物质使用困扰的人们提供支持。绝大多数从生命线寻求帮助的人此时不需要任何额外的干预。目前,只有不到 2% 的现有生命线呼叫涉及对某人生命的直接风险,需要连接到 911 等紧急服务。988 协调响应旨在以最少限制的方式促进稳定和护理。

当在 988 呼叫期间无法减少某人生命的直接风险时,一小部分呼叫需要 911 系统。在这些情况下,危机顾问会与 911 分享对挽救来电者生命至关重要的信息。

Help is Three Numbers Away

988: The 24/7 Lifeline for Emotional, Mental or Substance Misuse Support

NEWS

NEWS RELEASE

Human Services Department launches campaign educating the public about the new 988 crisis support line

Reasons to Call 988:

How it Works

CALL

People who call 988 are given three options:

  • Press 1 to connect with the Veterans Crisis Line
  • Press 2 to connect with the Spanish Subnetwork
  • Remain on the line and be connected to a local crisis center; if local crisis center is unable to answer, the caller is routed to a national backup center

TEXT or CHAT

People who text “TALK” to 988 will be connected to crisis centers equipped to respond to texts. Chat will be available through the Lifeline’s website: https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/chat.

Find information on 988 workshops on our calendar.

How is 988 different from 911?

A behavioral health crisis needs a behavioral health response. 988 was established to improve access to crisis services in a way that meets our country’s growing crisis behavioral health care needs. 988 provides easier access to related behavioral health crisis resources, which are distinct from 911 (where the focus is on dispatching Emergency Medical Services, fire, and police as needed).

Frequently Asked Questions

988 is a new, free and easy to remember nationwide helpline for emotional, mental or substance use crisis. It’s part of a larger initiative to build out a behavioral health infrastructure for people in distress to have “someone to call, someone to come and somewhere to go.


988 calls, texts and chats are answered by trained, compassionate behavioral health professionals who know community mental health and substance use resources. They will listen, offer support and work together with the caller to develop a plan for safety and recovery.


988 can open the door for all New Mexicans to seek mental well-being or substance use help, while sending the message that healing, hope, and help are happening every day.


988 is an important first, but not final step, in reimagining New Mexico’s behavioral health crisis system to respond to anyone in need. HSD/BHSD believes New Mexicans deserve to have mental health within reach. Building the Crisis Now Continuum of Care is about meeting people where they’re at when they need it most. This transformation will take time and requires resources from federal, state, and local levels to prepare the crisis system to better meet these needs.

988 is available now in real-time for call, text, and chat. Spanish speakers are available.

  • Worried about your safety or someone you know.
  • Having a hard time managing strong emotions.
  • Feeling hopeless, confused, angry or lonely.
  • Worried about alcohol or drug use (substance use).
  • Need information or referrals for local community services.
  • Have something on your mind that you want to talk over with someone outside of current situation.
  • Service member or veteran and their families.

When you call, text or chat 988 a trained behavioral health professional will answer. Many have a background in mental health or social work, but all are trained. They are there to listen non-judgmentally and help you process your feelings, think through your problem or situation and explore your options or what comes next and help figure out what you want to do, if anything. Currently, calls to 988 from New Mexico area codes are automatically routed to the New Mexico Crisis and Access Line.

Call

When calling 988, callers first hear a greeting message while their call is routed to the local network crisis center (based on the caller’s area code).
You will also be given three options. Press 1 to connect to the Veterans Crisis Line or Press 2 to connect with the Spanish network.
Trained behavioral health professional will answer the phone, listen to the caller, understand how their problem is affecting them, provide support, and share resources if needed. If the local crisis center is unable to take the call, the caller will be automatically routed to a national backup crisis center.

 

Starting July 16, 2022, when calling 988, callers first hear a greeting message while their call is routed to the local network crisis center (based on the caller’s area code).

You will also be given three options. Press 1 to connect to the Veterans Crisis Line or Press 2 to connect with the Spanish network.

Trained behavioral health professional will answer the phone, listen to the caller, understand how their problem is affecting them, provide support, and share resources if needed. If the local crisis center is unable to take the call, the caller will be automatically routed to a national backup crisis center.

Text

People who text “TALK” to 988 are currently connected to crisis centers equipped to respond to texts. This service will expand over the next few years to increase local and state-level response. Once connected, a behavioral health professional will listen to you, work to understand how your problem is affecting you, provide support, and share resources that may be helpful.

Chat

What happens when I chat via 988?

Chat is available through the Lifeline’s website https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/chat

People seeking chat services are provided a pre-chat survey before connecting with a counselor that identifies the main area of concern. If there is a wait to chat with a crisis counselor, a wait-time message will appear. If demand is high, individuals can access the 988 “helpful resources” while waiting or call 988. Once connected, a behavioral health professional will listen to you, work to understand how your problem is affecting you, provide support and share resources that may be helpful.

988 will improve access for all New Mexicans who may be in emotional, mental health or substance use distress. 988 provides easier access to local network resources, which are different from 911. 988 changes the perception of what do in a mental health crisis. It is as important as having a physical emergency. It is an alternative to law enforcement as the primary intervention for mental health.

The 988 and 911 systems will need to be closely coordinated to seamlessly allow referral of callers for appropriate care or response that addresses the unique circumstances present with each crisis encounter. HSD/BHSD is actively working with local 911 counterparts to plan for smooth coordination between the two services.

The primary goal of 988 is to provide support for people in crisis or mental health-related or substance use distress in the moments they most need it and in a manner which is person-centered. The vast majority of those seeking help from the Lifeline do not require any additional interventions at that moment. Currently, fewer than 2% of the existing Lifeline calls involving immediate risk to someone’s life require connection to emergency services like 911. The 988 coordinated response is intended to promote stabilization and care in the least restrictive manner.

A small percent of calls requires the 911 system when there is immediate risk to someone’s life that cannot be reduced during the 988 call. In these cases, the crisis counselor shares information with 911 that is crucial to saving the caller’s life.